Stilton Literary



The Devil's Horseman

Original title: Djevelens rytter Publisher: Gyldendal 2018 Fiction / Historical 80000 Words English synopsis of all five volumes available

The Last Viking King-series is based on real events in Harald Hardrada's life. After the Battle of Stiklestad in 1030, young Harald finds himself in exile with Yaroslav I, whom he serves as a warrior. However, he soon sets out for Constantinople, the city where power and wealth can be won. On the way there, out on the vast steppes, Harald meets the Khazars, otherwise known as the Devil's Horsemen. It is here that Harald too learns how to be a devil's horseman. But Harald's and the Khazars' equestrian skills are of little help when the Byzantine Emperor's soldiers attack. Those who are not killed, are taken to Constantinople as prisoners of war. It is here that Harald's long, fair hair catches the appreciative eye of the Empress, which in turn leads to him trying out for the Emperor's army of Nordic mercenaries.

Foreign rights

Heyne Verlag, Germany Perseus, Bulgaria Tukan Förlag, Sweden

Top-notch Viking novel! ... has everything a good historical and entertaining novel should have. (Six stars)

VG

Much of the strength of Ekeberg's project is the way he combines storytelling with historical characters and storyline. (Five stars)

Hamar Arbeiderblad

Jan Ove Ekeberg

Jan Ove Ekeberg (b. 1954) lives in Fredrikstad, journalist and till recently; head of TV 2 Financial News, today a full time author. Ekeberg's debut was a biography on former PM, Gro Harlem Brundtland (1996). Since then Ekeberg has written several non-fiction books, children's books and novels. Ekeberg reached a large audience with his first historical suspense series IN TIMES OF SWORDS (2011-2013), set in the 12th century.

His new series featuring the Viking king Harald Hardråde, was launched in spring 2016 to marvellous reviews. He aims to deliver the seguels The Devil's Horseman and Imperial Mercenary by 2020.

Other titles

The Viking Age in 200 Pages (2022) Death's Commander (2021) Enemy of Peace (2020) Imperial Mercenary (2019) Apprentice of War (2016) The Merciful Terrorist (2015) The Holy Shrine (2013) Regicides (2012) The Era of Swords (2011)